Zany Woodruff Operation

Zany Woodruff Operation



Originated in Cleckheaton, Spen Valley, West Yorkshire in 1966. Band originally known as Satan and The Disciples. Kenny Rooke had previously played in The Icebergs. The band recorded at Radio Craft studios (situated at the back of a radio repair shop) in Huddersfiled, owned by Mat Mathias, inventor of the Matamp amplifier (aka Orange amps). The band also later recorded at R.G. Jones studios in Morden, Surrey before finally disbanding in late 1967. Martin Garside and Graham Lockwood went on to form Museum with Alan Holdsworth and Alan Rogers, but this was a short-lived band. Kenny Rooke went on to form Skin Deep (see entry).

Tracks 1 & 2 recorded at Radio Craft 13/12/1966. Tracks 3 & 4 recorded at Radio Craft 10/04/1967. Tracks 5 to 10 recorded at Radio Craft 20/10/1967. Tracks 11 & 12 recorded at R. G. Jones Studios 27/07/1967.



Kenny Rooke (bass guitar, vocals), Pete Sewell (lead gtr, vocals), Graham Lockwood (keyboard), Martin Garside (drums). Andrea Hanson (vocals), Russell Walker (tenor sax), Tony Light (trumpet).



Copyright Notices

Additional Info: For further information:

All recorded and photographic material submitted by Kenny Rooke, Graham Lockwood. 2012.

All recorded and photographic material copyright Zany Woodruff Operation, K. Rooke, G. Lockwood. 2012.

Special thanks to: Kenny Rooke, Graham Lockwood, Pete Bradley.